National Park Ugra. War Memorial Path Pavlovsky Foothold at the Ugra River in 1942-43

The National Park Ugra was founded on February 10, 1997. In 2002 it was given the status of a Biosphere Reservation under the UNESCO aegis. The park territory covers valleys of rivers Ugra, Zhizdra and Vyssa (left-hand branches of the Oka River) and extends for more than 200 kilometers.

The idea to set up a national park there came in view in the early 1980s when it became evident that the natural landscapes had to be preserved in river valleys of Ugra and Zhizdra. This territory was also of special interest because of a unique collection of historical and cultural heritage. Many important events of the Russian history are linked to these river banks.

On July 18, 1995 the Legislative Assembly of Kaluga Region issued resolution No. 285 which set planned boundaries of the national park. By its resolution No. 1 of August 7, 1996, the regional government ruled to establish the national park Ugra in Kaluga Region and approached the Government of Russia with this proposal.

The National Park Ugra is a public entity and pertains to especially protected natural areas of federal significance. The park activities are regulated by the Federal Law “Regarding Specially Protected Natural Sites” and a provision approved by the Ministry of natural Resources of the Russian Federation.

One of the park’s objectives is maintain environmental safety of the region. In frames of its charity activities, JSC IUEC supports conservation of unique historical and cultural and natural sites in regions hosting nuclear facilities. The territory of Kaluga Region hosts the State Scientific Center of Russia – A.I. Leipunsky Institute of Physics and Power Engineering (IPPE), Kaluga Turbine Plant (KTZ), Production Association Instrumentation Plant Signal (PA Signal).

In 2011 JSC IUEC supported the project “War Memorial Path “Pavlovasky Foothold at the Ugra River in 1942-43.” Picturesque valleys of the Ugra River attract attention not only by beautiful the landscape. The Ugra River remind of the World War II events.

In fall 1941 when the German Fascist occupation started a fortified line along the Ugra River was built. In was called the Ugra-Front that runs west of Yukhnov Town for 35 kilometers. The invaders considered the Ugra right bank as an optimal position for coming winter deployment following seizure and destruction of Moscow. At the gate of the Soviet capital the enemies were defeated but as soon as the Red Army approached the Ugra River in March 1942 its liberation advancement was hindered. The Soviet troops tried to break the Ugra-Front for six times over one and half months and advance to the region hold by the 33-rd Army of lieutenant-general M.G. Yefremov in the home front of the enemy.

On April 3-20, 1942 near Pavlovo Village the 49-th Army of lieutenant-general I.G. Zakharov made the last of the attempts. The battle line extended for 5-7 kilometers. In conditions of grave shortage of ammunition, the red Army found strength to rain down thousands of artillery shells on the adversary supported by harsh air strikes. It was a rare case when even seizure of a couple of buildings, 200-meter advancements were reported on to Josef Stalin and Adolf Hitler’s headquarters.

A village that extended for about 800 meters along the Ugra River bank was seized by the Soviet troops on the very first day of the battle owing to a fast concealed advancement. On the whole, the breakthrough of the Ugra-Front failed and cost huge human casualties. On some days up a death toll was up to 200 soldiers of the 49-th Army. A division, which was attacking near Pavlovo Village, lost 545 men dead. On their side, the Germans had to use all tactical reserves. In parallel, just in a few kilometers away of Pavlovo the enemy managed to liquidate the Yefremov’s group. On April 17, 1942 ice drift started.

On April 20, 1942 Stalin issued an order to stop all attack operations. The battle of Moscow ended. The 49-th Army passed over to defense on the left bank of the Ugra River. Pavlovo Village and half of the adjacent field were held as the stronghold across the river. Periodically rotating and changing in numbers from a battalion up to a regiment, solders from different detachments were making efforts to defend the Pavlovsky Foothold. Slips in were carried out through sound and multi-row lines of defense, and survived Yefremov’s men were approaching the foothold there through as well. The fighting sides often attacked to solve local tasks. A total of about 2,300 Soviet soldiers lost their lives near Pavlovo Village. The Germans also suffered sizable losses while trying to regain this pad of soil for many times. The frontline there existed until March 1943 when the strategic defeat at Stalingrad forced the Germans to recall all troops from the Ugra Front.

The national Park Ugra management jointly with JSC IUEC will continue restoring unique monuments related to the World War II history.
 

Linked photos:

Национальный парк «Угра». «Военно-мемориальная тропа «Павловский плацдарм на реке Угре 1942-43 гг.»

Национальный парк «Угра» образован 10 февраля 1997 года. В 2002 году ему присвоен статус биосферного резервата под эгидой ЮНЕСКО. Территория парка охватывает долины рек Угры, Жиздры и Выссы (левые притоки Оки) и имеет протяженность более 200 км.

Идея создания национального парка появилась в начале 1980-х годов, когда стала очевидной необходимость сохранения природных ландшафтов долин рек Угры и Жиздры. Особый интерес к этой территории определялся также уникальным собранием памятников историко-культурного наследия. Многие важнейшие события русской истории связаны с берегами названных рек.
Постановлением от 18 июля 1995 года № 285 Законодательное собрание Калужской области согласовало проектируемые границы национального парка. Правительство области Постановлением от 7 августа 1996 № 1 года приняло решение о создании национального парка «Угра» в Калужской области и обратилось в Правительство России с данным предложением..

Национальный парк «Угра» является государственным учреждением и относится к особо охраняемым природным территориям федерального значения. Вопросы деятельности парка регулируются Федеральным законом «Об особо охраняемых природных территориях» и Положением, утвержденным Министерством природных ресурсов РФ.

Одной из задач парка является поддержание экологической безопасности региона. В рамках благотворительной деятельности ОАО «МЦОУ» оказывает поддержку по сохранению уникальных историко-культурных и природных территорий в районах размещения объектов атомной отрасли. На территории Калужской области расположены: Государственный научный центр Российской Федерации – Физико-энергетический институт имени А.И. Лейпунского (ФГУП «ГНЦ РФ – ФЭИ»), Калужский турбинный завод (ОАО КТЗ), Производственное объединение «Приборный завод «Сигнал» (ОАО ПО «Сигнал»).

В 2011 году ОАО «МЦОУ» оказала поддержку проекту «Военно-мемориальная тропа «Павловский плацдарм на реке Угре 1942-43 гг.». Живописные долины рек Угры привлекают внимание не только красотой ландшафта. С Угрой связана история Великой Отечественной Войны.

Осенью 1941 года, с началом немецко-фашистской оккупации, вдоль р. Угры начинается сооружаться укрепительный рубеж «Угра-фронт», протянувшийся западнее г. Юхнова на 35 км. Правый берег реки захватчики рассматривали как оптимальную позицию для своего размещения предстоящей зимой, после взятия и разрушения Москвы. У ворот советской столицы немцы были разбиты, но с выходом Красной Армии к Угре в марте 1942 года ее освободительное шествие застопорилось. В течение полутора месяцев советские войска шесть раз пытались прорвать «Угра-фронт» и пробиться в область, занятую в тылу врага войсками 33-й армии генерал-лейтенанта М.Г. Ефремова.

3-20 апреля 1942 года у деревни Павлово осуществлялась последняя из этих попыток силами частей 49-й армии генерал-лейтенанта И.Г. Захаркина. Бои развернулись на фронте в 5-7 км. При острейшем дефиците боеприпасов у Красной Армии, была найдена возможность обрушить на противника тысячи орудийных выстрелов и массированные удары авиации. Редкий случай: донесение о захвате нескольких домов, о продвижении на 200 м направлялись лично И.В. Сталину и в штаб А. Гитлера.

Деревня, протянувшаяся по правому берегу Угры метров на восемьсот, была взята советскими воинами в первый же день боев путем внезапного скрытного броска. В целом же прорыв «Угра-фронта» не удался, и стоил больших людских потерь. В отдельные дни погибали до двухсот солдат 49-й армии. Наступавшая непосредственно у Павлово дивизия только убитыми потеряла 545 человек. Немцы, со своей стороны, были вынуждены израсходовать все тактические резервы. Одновременно в считанных километрах от Павлово врагу удалось ликвидировать группу М.Г. Ефремова. 17 апреля 1942 года начался ледоход.

20 апреля 1942 года И.В. Сталин издал приказ о прекращении всех наступательных действий. Московская битва закончилась. 49-я армия перешла к обороне по левому берегу Угры. Деревня Павлово и половина прилегающего поля были удержаны за рекой в качестве плацдарма. Периодически сменяясь, количеством от батальона до полка, бойцы разных частей держали оборону на Павловской плацдарме. Сквозь сплошные и многорядные укрепления противника осуществлялись вылазки в его тыл, к плацдарму выходили уцелевшие бойцы-ефремовцы. Решая отдельные местные задачи, воюющие стороны нередко предпринимали атаки. Всего в районе деревни Павлово погибло приблизительно 2 300 советских солдат. Ощутимые потери понесли и немцы при неоднократных попытках вернуть этот «пятачок». Линия фронта держалась здесь до марта 1943 года, когда стратегическое поражение под Сталинградом вынудило немцев снять все войска с угорского рубежа.

Руководство и работники Национального парка «Угра» совместно с ОАО «МЦОУ» продолжат работу по восстановлению уникальных объектов, связанных с историей Великой Отечественной Войны.
 

Связанные фотографии:

 


Этот сайт использует cookies. Продолжая работу с сайтом, Вы выражаете своё согласие на обработку Ваших персональных данных. Отключить cookies Вы можете в настройках своего браузера. Подробнее
Согласен